100_3790

I often bump into friends in cafes and it’s these unexpected meetings that are often the most enjoyable.  On Tuesday having just dropped off some old camera gear at Clock Tower Cameras I was strolling through Pavilion Gardens when I remembered that there was a new cafe through the south archway.  The possibilities of somewhere new is always a draw for a cafe lover like myself.  Just as I was deciding which tea to have who should walk in but a friend who is a photography lecturer in London.

100_3802The Pavilion Tea Co. has taken over the space that used to be occupied by the Pavilion shop which has moved into the adjoining space that used to be the tourist office.  It’s on a small, pedestrianised side road that leads onto the Pavilion Estate and lined mainly with other cafes and restaurants.

Loose teas are the speciality here and the look is of a traditional oriental tea sellers.  Colourful tea containers in hues of red, yellow and brown  are stacked up on dark wooden shelving along the main wall with hexagonal  fringed yellow lampshades  hanging down. The royal blue velvet seating along by the large arched windows looked very inviting and the bespoke wooden tables and chairs complete the look.

The cakes and savouries all looked delicious   100_3804 and the lunch box deal of  one of their savoury tray bakes or quiche with seasonal salad at £4.95 should be a crowd puller.Tea is served in grey cast iron teapots, just like in Hove Museum tearoom, being also run by Peyton and Byrne,  and there’s a superb choice  if you’re a bit of a tea aficionado.

My friend and I got chatting and soon moved on to photography.  Her students were down from London to do a Graham Greene’s ‘Brighton Rock’ book cover assignment. I was able to update her on my forays into interiors copywriting with possible accompanying photography and my subsequent  digital upgrade. Her wise comment  that it’s more about the development of the  ideas of the person behind the lens  than the camera which is just a tool is worth remembering. It was great chatting photography again and reminded me of my college course taken some years ago.

Clock Tower Cameras phoned later with their quote and it’s  just about enough to buy a new digital SLR It will probably take some time to learn how to get the best from it but I’ve always loved taking photos and it looks like a new opportunity is opening up for me. All the better with the support of like minded friends. ‘A happy accident’ remarked my friend at the happenstance of meeting each other. For me too the synthesis of photography,  writing and tea too of course.

Find out more about the  Pavilion Tea Co. Cafe

Clock Tower Cameras

